Very good news regarding Cancer treatment today

Andy J

CCCUK Member
Andy, something else occurred to me last night whilst driving home from work. When my brother in law was diagnosed I'm sure he was told it could have been due to his contact with petro chemicals. We have our own building business and for years we worked on site as decorators, all sorts of paints, thinners etc and obviously you work with fuels, is this a coincidence or is there a link? Interesting that you mention losing height as that's what's happened to him also.
Ive been in Aviation for 34 years. Before that i was working with wood and creosote for 6 years. This was before health and safety so ppe was non existent so its highly likely that somewhere along the line petrochemical products got where they shouldnt. But at the end of the day even used engine oil can be carcinogenic and ive been messing with cars and bikes for 40 years. I guess it will never be proven, no "smoking gun". Ultimately ive got it now and its not going away. However, when i was in Addenbrooks a nurse said to me that they are on the cusp of it being something you die with not die from. Who knows whats 5 or 10 years down the line. I saw a video of a Dr talking about Myeloma and he said when hes asked whats the best way to combat the disease he just says "stay alive!" Medicine is moving so fast the longer you can keep going the closer they are to finding a permanent fix.

Mr. Cricket

Committee Member
I was initially told that if i had no chemo etc i had 12-18 months so its a reasonable price to pay really.
Do you mind sharing what side affects you suffered Andy?

We are very close to seeing Chemo without side affects which will be amazing and then offer those with underlying health issues the opportunity to now have Chemo and for patients to receive as much as they need not just the minimum safe amount (MTD) Avacta have promised PK data before year end to hopefully demonstrate this.

Roscobbc